FHS of Martin

Society Area Representatives


Area Representative position vacant

Yorkshire is a surprisingly large region on a comparatively small island, composed of a myriad of small parishes, townships and hamlets, any of which may contain records pertaining to your family line there are 3,882,851 acres with a population of 2,886,564. Yorkshire is the first county of England in point of size, and the third in point of population.

Its nearly as large as Wales, and exceeds considerably the combined areas of the two next largest counties, Lincolnshire and Devonshire.

Yokshire Map

The county of Yorkshire is split into four areas: the Ainsty of York, EastRiding, North Riding and West Riding

Yorkshire lies in north-eastern England on the North Sea. In 1974 the county was broken up into North, South and West Yorkshire together with Humberside, which was formed with part of Lincolnshire, and Cleveland, which was formed with part of Durham. All five counties have since been broken up into smaller authorities.

Towns include the historic city of York, the former centre of the cloth industry at Leeds, the former steel producing town of Sheffield and the former world centre for wool at Bradford

Country view, Yorkshire Countryside view
Yorkshire Terrier
Yorkshire Terrier

If you do not see the menu on the left please click here

The UK Family History Society of Martin. Please report any errors or problems with these pages to the Webmaster.